End of Summer Fitness Check In

Summer is coming to a close with classes are starting this week. With that in mind, I did a fitness assessment to see where I’m at after these past few months. This summer has been quite the journey for me – emotionally, mentally and psychologically – dealing with some unfortunate personal stuff. Depression and anxiety are no joking matter and are conditions that deserve attention and mention. I was able to get outside some days for a little running and biking; I made it to the gym: swimming and lifting maybe once or twice each month. It’s been a real up hill battle these past few months and I am glad to have the semester start up again, I look forward to working on my fitness goals with a more regiment/ scheduled approach.

End of summer 1-RMs:

Barbells:

  • Bench Press: 65#
  • Bent Over Rows: 75#
  • Deadlift: 100#
  • Squat: 95#

Dumbbells:

  • Arm Curls: 20#
  • Arm Extension: 30#
  • Shoulder Shrug: 45#

Stacked Machines:

  • Leg Press: 250# (176.75)
  • Calf Press: 250#
  • Leg Extension: 140#
  • Seated Leg Curls: 140#
  • Hip Abduction: 215#
  • Hip Adduction: 215#
  • Chest Press: 110#
  • Overhead Press: 85#
  • Lateral Pull Down: 96.6#
  • Seated Rows: 95#

Plank: 1 min (down 1 min) Push ups to max: 25 (down 8 but better form) Modified push ups: 70 in 1min Sit ups: 90 in 1 min (down 15) Sit ups to max: 130 Pull ups: 0 Wall Sit: 3:01 min (didn’t do this for the last check in)

New Measurements: (overall lose of 5″ total)

  • Neck: 13″
  • Shoulders: 41″
  • Chest: 38″
  • Biceps: 10″
  • Waist: 34″
  • Hips: 38″
  • Thigh: 22″
  • Calf: 14″

Height: 5′ 4″ = 64″ (don’t expect this to change but used for purposes of BMI calculations) Weight: 137.6# BMI: 23.5 Body Fat %: didn’t have an accurate way to measure this time but based on the math it’s roughly the same as last check in

Fitness Motivation! KEEP GOING!! Doing this for me... Check out the website to see how I lost 20 pounds last month

My results are not what I could have liked but they’re not terrible. I’ve managed to maintain some strength, predominately in my lower body muscles while only loosing slight muscular strength in my upper body/ core muscles. The overall weight loss is a little concerning since I know it’s not all fat loss, meaning despite being down 11.9#, some of that is from muscle mass loss. I have no doubt that once I settle into my routine of classes and workouts that I’ll be up to my normal standards and gaining within a month or two.

running motivational quotes | Gone For a RUN Blog 15 Extremely Motivating Quotes To Help Get You ...

I did mention getting out some for a bit of running and biking plus I was able to get some pool time in. However instead of working on pace time or even distance really, I focused on just getting out there and doing something. This summer I’ve been mixing it up with my runs and having fun with them. More about that (with pics) can be found on my Tumblr. I did run in the Stride for Pride 5K in June.

Fall Line: Sept 6 – the Gatorade/Steelers annual 5K, Sept 19 – the Color Run Shine (5K), Sept 27 – Great Race (10K), Oct 25 – the EQT Pgh 10 Miler, Nov 7 – Zoo 5K now I just need something for Dec and I will have actually done something (race/event) every month this year.

No destination bike trip this summer 😦 which was a bummer but I did log a lot of urban bike trail miles. Beginning July 20th – Aug 7th some friends of mine bike toured around Seattle and according to the captain they were planning on riding ~50 miles a day, totaling somewhere ~1,000 miles by end of trip. Trails I used: GAP Trail, Three Rivers Heritage Trail, and North Shore Trail – Chateau Trail plus a good amount of road time (biked around the East End – Lawrenceville, Bloomfield, Shadyside, East Liberty, Highland Park, Garfield; Squirrel Hill; the Strip District; Downtown; the North Shore and North Side; Milvale; Oakland; South Side).

  • July 20: 58.5 miles (Time: 4:57)
  • July 21: 40 miles (Time: 3:30)
  • July 22: 48 miles (Time: 28:12 and 2:55)
  • July 23: 56 miles (Time: 5:30)
  • July 24: 50.2 miles (Time: 2:04:32 and 3:15)
  • July 25: 45.5 miles (Time: 4:23)
  • July 26: 50 miles (Time: 4:30)
  • July 27: off – was at a wedding
  • July 28: 51.6 miles (Time: 4:36)
  • July 29: 60.3 miles (Time: 5:05)
  • July 30: 50.4 miles (Time: 4:30)
  • July 31: 47.4 miles (Time: 3:33)
  • Aug 1: 50.7 miles (Time: 4:58)
  • Aug 2: 60.2 miles (Time: 5:14)
  • Aug 3: 47.8 miles (Time: 4:55)
  • Aug 4: 57.2 miles (Time: 5:05)
  • Aug 5: 65 miles (Time: 6:02)
  • Aug 6: 50.3 miles (Time: 5:00)
  • Aug 7: 83.42 miles – this was my longest ride thus far this summer – broke it up into bike sized chunks though (Time: 3:09 and 2:55 and 3:06)

The weekend of Aug 7-9 was Pittsburgh’s triathlon – while I didn’t officially compete in the race I did complete the events/ distances using my school’s pool and facilities. My results: swim 600 meters (~0.25 mile) 30min, bike 20K (~12.5 miles) 45min, run 5K (3.1 miles) 30min. Total elapsed time: just over 2 hours. Total moving time: 1 hr 45min

By the end of the scheduled time for their bike trip I had clocked in 972.52 miles, actually 985.02 miles including the bike miles from the triathlon (Time: 90 hrs 25 min).

  • Aug 11: 37.5 miles (Time 3:30)
  • Aug 12: 35 miles (Time: 3:24)
  • Aug 14: 27 miles (Time 2:15) this brings my new total to 1,084.52 miles (Time: 99 hrs 34 min)

I’ll keep up the biking (I’m participating in the National Bike Challenge which has been going on since May 1 & ends Sept 30 – more on that when it’s over) but my ave daily mileage will decrease as school begins and I’ll be logging more transportation/commuter miles.

Update: Aug 16: 25 miles (Time: 2:25), Aug 17: 27.5 miles (Time: 2:45); new total = 1,137.02 miles (Time: 104 hrs 44 min) clocked before my first class of the semester (starting from July 20th). I think my math is correct for the total time, a lot of adding and converting was involved. BikeFest is also coming up here in a couple days so I’ll get some more recreational rides logged.

Here’s to a fresh start!

Maybe we should call ourselves the febreze brothers because things are feeling so fresh right now.

Leave a Reply

