Summer Adventures!

Summer is flying by with all kinds of good stuff.

July and August have been all kinds of fun. Every weekend seems to have something going since I’ve been back from the awesome bike trip.

First weekend back I was happy to be able to get out and enjoy my first ever real life roller derby event! Very cool, very fast paced and exciting.

The following weekend some friends and I went camping at Ohiopyle (déjà vu lol). Was fun and nice to see everyone and hang out even though it literally rained all day everyday that we were there so all of our super fun plans were cancelled lol.

The last weekend in July I was able to bring my little brother up to Pittsburgh, which was super cool and I’m so glad that everything worked out. First night was just hangout, sleep (long day of driving) the next day we spent most of the day at Sandcastle then movie and food. The next day was the big crew event: Heinz Challenge! Super fun and Casey’s and I’s heat won! We made an epic/cute movie with the footage we got. Luckily the rain held out long enough for us to finish but not long enough for us to redock the boat. Lots of food and hanging out time since the rain killed our dreams of going to the zoo or museums. That evening was able to meet up with some friends who have kids around my brother’s age which I thought was nice to get him around kids, since he seems to always be stuck inside at home at the campground. The last day of his visit was a surprise for him (till we meet up with the rents). We had lunch then my parents took him out to the tracks to ride in some Lamborghinis, which I thought was pretty cool of them (surprise, early bday gift).

First weekend of August kicked off with the Run For Your Lives Zombie 5k. This year I opted to be transformed into a zombie then run for my life after my zombie shift. I liked doing both this year though it did make for a very tiring day. That evening ended with a dance party! Casey (who was also a zombie) and I made a sweet movie about that race too! It’s crazy awesome how good at making mini movies we are getting.

Online classes are going well, liking the exercise physiology course I’m currently taking and excited about the social psych course that will start soon. The finance class proved to be too much for me at this time, very time demanding in order to really understand it and do well on the assignments/quizzes so I’m going to hold off on this class till another time I can commit more of my time to.

The vegetarian diet is still in full swing, cooking all things veggies and juicing anything I can! The vegan diet I may hold off on or just research some of the diet options out there and do some sort of combo deal that suits my current lifestyle.

My dream of worm composting is still alive though not a reality at the moment. I underestimated exactly how busy and full my days would be this summer (probably where I went wrong with taking on the finance class as well).

College preparation is now on! I’m in the process of filling out applications, writing essays, visiting campuses and touring the facilities. Def don’t remember it being this difficult or time consuming when I went through it my senior year in high school but it will for sure be worth the wait.

Upcoming events:

Campus visit to Chatham University. Checking out the Warhol museum and some of the exhibits I’ve been hearing about.

Finally, what I feel like all summer has been training for: the Tough Mudder! I’m excited to meet all the peeps on my new found team, the Saber-tooth Wombats and see how well I finish.

Leave a Reply

